Follow Friday: Health Care Social Media Canada

Follow Friday: Health Care Social Media Canada

Health Care Social Media Canada is a weekly chat founded by Colleen Young. According to the desciption on at www.symplur.com, @hcsmca is a vibrant community of people sharing about all things related to health care and social media in Canada.

Colleen founded the Canadian version of the global health care social media chat (#hcsm), which is held Sunday evenings at 9pm @HealthSocMed. Similar to @hcsmca, the global chat seeks to provide a collaborative space for individuals (including doctors, caregivers, patients and more) to discuss issues and best practices in the changing landscape of health care and health care communications.

Tweet chats like #hcsm and #hcsmca provide a great opportunity to learn, share and collaborate with a passionate group of health care providers and communicators.

Here are the instructions for participating in the weekly chats from Colleen Young’s website:

  1. Get a Twitter account.
  2. Go to TweetChat.com.
  3. Enter the hcsmca in the box that says “Enter hashtag to follow” and click Go.
  4. Sign in to participate in the chat. (note the hashtag #hcsmca will automatically be added to your tweets.
  5. Review this week’s topics. Feel free to add a topic yourself.
  6. Be online at 1 pm EST (2 pm AST, noon CST, 11 am MST, 10 am PST).
  7. Chat! Be sure to add #hcsmca to your comments so they show up in the stream.
If you want to learn more about #HCSMCA, join us on May 21 for Third Tuesday Toronto where Colleen Young will be speaking about building online communities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *